4 Hour Work Week?

Chelsea Becker of “Because I’m Addicted” wrote a piece responding to “The 4 Hour Work Week” by Timothy Ferris. I did not read this book, so when I went looking for further information on it, I found this quote by Demonstrating Excellence-“The 4-Hour Workweek is the manifesto of a new and better worldview, a profoundly transformational shift that is the antithesis to some of modern society’s most entrenched and pervasive assumptions about the way life is and will be” (Demonstrating Excellence).

In Becker’s article, she explains how it does sound appealing to only put 4 hours into work each week, but she also mentions how more she, and many others would be if they only devoted 4 hours each week to work. I on the other hand, would NOT be bored. She goes on to explain how if you love what you do, you’ll never work a day in your life. That’s how the quote goes, right? While I agree with that statement, I would jump at the opportunity to only work 4 hours a week.  At the end of her article, she poses the question “what would you do if you were only working 4 hours a week?”, and I am thrilled to give Chelsea a response.

If I were only going to put 4 hours a week into work, first I would make sure that my 4 hours went toward something that I loved doing. If we lived in a perfect world, I would run a successful Met’s blog with millions of readers reading my slightly abusive commentary on the team and their disappointing actions. So for 4 hours a week, (I’m thinking 1 hour per post, 4 posts a week) I would be writing for my blog. For the remaining 164 hours left in the week, I would spend a lot of the time sleeping. I know how boring and lazy that sounds, but being a full time student and maintaining a job leaves little time for sleep, so I would make it a point to sleep for however long my heart desired. When I’m not sleeping I would be spending time with my friends and family. Whether it be meeting for lunch or going on little day trips to places we love, or places we’ve never been before. I would spend as much time with the people I love as possible (without cutting into my nap times, of course). I would make it a point to be at every single Met’s game that was in driving distance of my house. This could be viewed as work preparation, right??? So I would kind of be working! Is that breaking the rules?

To sum up, the last thing I would be is bored if I were only to work 4 hours a week. I would spend more time living and making time for things that make living more fun! Life shouldn’t be about going to a job all day and coming home and repeating that at least 5 times a week, unless of course that is what makes you happy!! Moral of the story- do whatever it takes to make yourself happy!!

What would YOU do if you only worked 4 hours a week??

 

Sources

D. (2015, August 13). The 4-Hour Workweek Summary. Retrieved September 21, 2017, from http://www.deconstructingexcellence.com/the-4-hour-workweek-summary/

Chelsea Becker San Francisco transplant, San Diego native. Lover of the beach, green juice, and Mexican food, especially when combined. (2017, September 18). Finding What You Actually Like to Do. Retrieved September 21, 2017, from http://becauseimaddicted.net/2017/09/finding-actually-like.html

Leave a Reply

